Manchester Congress

Tuesday, 07 January 2020 by Victor Ridding

The Manchester Congress was held on 4th and 5th January at the Marriot V & A Hotel, Water Street Manchester.

All the results are here

Congratulations to all the CHBC members who did well.

In the Championship Pairs:

  • Jeff Smith came second (with Leslie Klein)
  • Rhona Goldenfield (with Marianne Farr) won the prize for the best women's pair
  • Raymond Semp (with David Olliver) won the prize for the best result in the first session
  • John Holland (with Jackie Pye) won the prize for the second best mixed pair)

In the Championship Teams:

  • Rodney Lighton came 1st (with Jovanka Smederavac, Barry Myers, Sally Brock)
  • Tom Slater came 2nd (with Robert Dixon, Suzy Lawson, Alan Jarvis)
  • Mary Green, Barbara Lewis, Janet Tolan, Victor Ridding came 3rd

The Michael's Trophy for the best junior pair was won by Will and Sam Wakefield.

In the Players Progress Cup:

  • Andy Robertshaw and Rana Das came 2nd
  • Heather Saunders and Graham Fletcher came 3rd

In the Kevin Comrie Cup:

  • Andrew Wiatr and Ken Hall came 3rd